Daytona Duels 2021 begin occasions, TV channel, lineup for NASCAR’s Daytona 500 qualifying races

NASCAR divides qualifying for the Daytona 500 into two parts: pole qualifying and two 150-mile races. These two races are better known as the Daytona Duels and will take place at Daytona International Speedway on Thursday 11 February 2021. The green flag for the first race will fall sometime after 7 p.m. ET. Race two begins sometime after 8:45 p.m. ET.

The duels determine the starting positions 3-40 for the Daytona 500, but also fulfill an important competitive function: They decide which teams will occupy the two remaining open places in the 40-car field. Eight teams are fighting for four open places in this year’s race. 36 seats have been reserved for Cup Series teams that have charter agreements with NASCAR.

MORE: Everything about the Daytona 500

Ryan Preece (JTG Daugherty Racing) and David Ragan (Front Row Motorsports) took the first two open positions with their qualifying speeds on Wednesday evening. With that, Austin Cindric (Team Penske), Ty Dillon (Gaunt Brothers Racing), Noah Gragson (Beard Motorsports), Kaz Grala (Kaulig Racing), Timmy Hill (Motorsport Business Management) and Garrett Smithley (Motorsport Business Management) have to race way in the last two open places Thursday.

Hendrick Motorsports teammates Alex Bowman (Pole) and William Byron (runner-up) are in the front row for Sunday’s race after their qualifying rounds on Wednesday evening. They will lead the field in their respective duel races.

Below is everything you need to know about Thursday’s Bluegreen Vacations Duel races in Daytona, including tee times, TV info and grid lines.

Start times for Daytona Duels 2021

  • Duel 1: 7 p.m. ET
  • Duel 2: 8:45 p.m. ET

The line-up for Duel 1 mainly consists of the drivers who ended up in uneven positions in pole qualifying. This means that the pole sitter Alex Bowman will be in the front row for his duel with Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (third in qualifying).

The line-up for Duel 2 mainly consists of the drivers who ended up in straight positions in pole qualifying. This means that second placed qualifier William Byron will lead the field for his duel race along with Bubba Wallace (fourth in qualifying).

MORE: Watch the Daytona Duels live with fuboTV (7 day free trial)

Daytona Duels 2021 TV channel

  • TV network: FS1
  • Live broadcast: Fox Sports Go

Speedweeks 2021 mark the start of Fox’s 21st season for NASCAR and the network’s 18th year for the Daytona 500. Mike Joy (play-by-play), Jeff Gordon, Clint Bowyer and Larry McReynolds (analysts) will be standing and studio coverage of the duels. Jamie Little and Regan Smith will be the pit reporters.

Canada’s TSN will also broadcast the duels live.

The radio broadcast of the Duels 2021 in Daytona can be heard on the Motor Racing Network (MRN) or on SiriusXM NASCAR radio.

Daytona Duels 2021 starting line-ups

The starting line-ups for the duels on Thursday were determined by the pole qualification on Wednesday. The drivers who qualified in Duel 1 in odd positions and the drivers who qualified in Duel 2 in even positions competed.

Below you will find the starting grid for the duels on Thursday evening in Daytona.

Duel 1

Start pos. driver team
1. Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports
2. Aric Almirola Stewart-Haas Racing
3. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. JTG Daugherty Racing
4th Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Racing
5. Ryan Preece JTG Daugherty Racing
6. Daniel Suarez Trackhouse Racing Team
7th Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing
8th. Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports
9. Matt DiBenedetto Wood Brothers Racing
10. Austin Cindric Team Penske
11. Joey Logano Team Penske
12th Ryan Newman Roush Fenway Racing
13th Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing
14th Michael McDowell Motorsport in the front row
15th Erik Jones Richard Petty Motorsports
16. Tyler Reddick Richard Childress Racing
17th Ty Dillon Gaunt Brothers Racing
18th Jamie McMurray Spire Motorsports
19th Quin Houff StarCom Racing
20th Timmy Hill Motorsport Business Management
21st Cody ware Rick Ware Racing
22nd Josh Bilicki Rick Ware Racing

Duel 2

Start pos. driver team
1. William Byron Hendrick Motorsports
2. Bubba Wallace 23XI Racing
3. Kevin Harvick Stewart-Haas Racing
4th Austin Dillon Richard Childress Racing
5. Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports
6. David Ragan Motorsport in the front row
7th Kurt Busch Chip Ganassi Racing
8th. Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
9. Ryan Blaney Team Penske
10. Kaz Grala Kaulig Racing
11. Chase Briscoe Stewart-Haas Racing
12th Ross Chastain Chip Ganassi Racing
13th Brad Keselowski Team Penske
14th Martin Truex Jr. Joe Gibbs Racing
15th Chris Buescher Roush Fenway Racing
16. Anthony Alfredo Motorsport in the front row
17th Corey LaJoie Spire Motorsports
18th Garrett Smithley Motorsport Business Management
19th BJ McLeod Live motorsport fast
20th Joey Gase Rick Ware Racing
21st Derrike Cope Rick Ware Racing
22nd Noah Gragson Bart Motorsport

Daytona 2021 television program

Below is the TV schedule for the remnants of the Daytona Speedweeks in 2021, including the duels, Daytona 500 series training sessions, and the Truck, Xfinity and ARCA series events, all through to Daytona 500 on Sunday to lead.

time event TV radio
5:35 pm Practice Camping World Truck Series FS1 No radio
19 o’clock Bluegreen Vacations duel of the NASCAR Cup Series in Daytona FS1 / TSN MRN
8.45 p.m. Bluegreen Vacations duel of the NASCAR Cup Series in Daytona FS1 / TSN MRN
time event TV radio
13 o’clock Practice ARCA Menards Series No TV No radio
3:10 p.m. Qualification for the Camping World Truck Series FS1 No radio
4:35 pm Practice Xfinity Series FS1 / app No radio
19:30 o’clock Camping World Truck Series, NextEra Energy 250 FS1 MRN
time event TV radio
8:30 am Qualification for the ARCA Menards Series No TV No radio
9:30 am NASCAR Cup Series Daytona 500 second practice FS2 / TSN MRN
10:40 am Qualification for the Xfinity series FS2 / TSN3 No radio
12:05 pm NASCAR Cup Series Daytona 500 final practice FS1 / TSN MRN
1:30 p.m. ARCA Menard’s series, Lucas Oil 200 FS1 MRN
17 o’clock Xfinity series, beef. It’s something for dinner. 300 FS1 / TSN MRN
time event TV radio
2.30 NASCAR Cup Series, 63rd Annual Daytona 500 Fox / TSN MRN

Comments are closed.