Google providers are presently unavailable (replace: they’re again)

Update (6:04 PM IST / 1:34 PM CET): After a global outage of around 40 minutes, Google services seem to be back to normal. However, some users report being signed out of certain Google apps. You may have to sign in again before you can use it again.

Update (5:36 PM IST / 1:06 PM CET): Google search is now active. Other services are not yet available.

Our original report follows.

Yes, not just you – many Google services, including Gmail, G Suite, and YouTube, are currently unavailable in many countries around the world. The cause of the failure is currently unclear. We’ll update this post as we learn more.

That means there are currently more than 2 billion users locked out of their email inboxes, cloud storage, documents and Watch Later playlists. It’s all in line with the 2020 end times theme I think.

The company’s services faced a major outage of this magnitude back in August. It took about four hours to restore them for some users, The Verge reported. Hopefully we won’t have to wait that long this time.

Addendum: A Google spokesman said the outage was due to an internal storage quota issue:

Today at 3:47 p.m. PT, Google experienced an authentication system failure for approximately 45 minutes due to an internal storage quota problem. Services that require users to log on experienced high error rates during this period. The problem with the authentication system was fixed at 4:32 am. All services will now be restored. We apologize to all concerned and will be doing a thorough review to ensure this issue does not occur in the future.

Did you know we have a consumer tech newsletter? It’s called Plugged In – and you can subscribe to it here.

Published on December 14, 2020 – 11:59 UTC

Comments are closed.