Listed below are the subsequent 5 Indianapolis 500 finishes in racing historical past

The greatest spectacle in racing has achieved several exciting results in its 104 years.

The Indy 500 has seen a string of winners cross the finish line just a fraction of a second before the runner-up car, and since 1990 a winner has not taken first place with a profit margin of 10 seconds or more.

With the 105th round this weekend, we take a look at the next placements in racing history, which correspond to the official times of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Could racing fans expect another close end on Sunday? Here are the next results in the history of the Indy 500.

MORE: Indy 500 fans, laps, drivers, and everything else you should know about the 2021 race

The next Indy 500 ends in history

year winner 2nd place Profit margin
1992 Al Unser Jr. Scott Goodyear 0.043 seconds
2014 Ryan Hunter-Reay Helio Castroneves 0.0600 seconds
2006 Sam Hornish Jr. Marco Andretti 0.0635 seconds
2015 Juan Pablo Montoya Willpower 0.1046 seconds
1982 Gordon Johncock Rick Mears 0.1600 seconds

1992: Al Unser Jr. over Scott Goodyear

The name Unser is all over the Indy 500. Al Unser is one of only three drivers to have won the race four times, and Bobby Unser has won it three times. But in 1992 it was Al’s son, Al Unser Jr., who included the Indy 500 trophy in the Family Awards case.

The race was filled with a number of falls, including the combo of father and son Mario and Jeff Andretti. Michael Andretti, Mario’s son and Jeff’s brother, led most of the race after setting a new record of 210.339 mph on the first lap. But our Jr. took the lead late, overtaking both his father and Michael Andretti.

Our Jr. was put under pressure by Scott Goodyear with seven laps to go. Goodyear had climbed to the top from 33rd position and would have been the first Indy 500 rider to finish first from bottom, but Unser Jr. took the lead at 3: 43: 05.148, just 0.043 ahead of Goodyear , the closest destination of all time. A month after the race, USAC Technical Director Mike Devin said the race was likely to end even closer with a margin of 0.0331.

2014: Ryan Hunter-Reay on Helio Castroneves

An American-born driver hadn’t won the Indy 500 since 2006, but the field looked strong in 2014. Ed Carpenter won pole position, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Marco Andretti each achieved 224 mph on day two of practice, and Kurt Busch drove his first – and so far his only – IndyCar Series race.

Hunter-Reay broke the record in the middle of the race averaging 211,871 mph and appeared to be in a dominant position despite starting the race in 11th place. Late in the race a red flag lasted nearly 11 minutes, and the race didn’t return to green until there are only six laps left.

Marco Castroneves made an attempt to overtake Hunter-Reay late and had a short lead on 196, but Hunter-Reay took the lead in 197 and finished the race in 2: 40: 48.2305 and came over Castroneves with 0.0600. Hunter-Reay led the race for 56 laps, most of all drivers.

2006: Sam Hornish Jr. on Marco Andretti

Marco Andretti, another member of a prominent racing family, drove his first Indy 500 in 2006 and finished in 9th place, just four places ahead of his father Michael Andretti. One of the most famous racers, however, was Sam Hornish Jr., a two-time IndyCar series winner who, despite the overall success of the race, had never won the Indy 500.

Hornish put himself in a good position early on by taking pole position at a speed of 228.985 mph in four laps. But it was Dan Wheldon who dominated the race. Wheldon led from laps 10 to 34, again between 39 and 107, between 111 and 124 and between 145 and 182 to finish the next day in 148 laps, while Hornish finished second in just 19 laps.

In the end, it came down to the Andrettis and Hornish. Michael took the lead on lap 194 and fell back to Marco on 198. It wasn’t until 450 feet were left in the race that Hornish moved ahead and became the first rider to successfully overtake the lead on the final lap to claim victory. He was just 0.0635 seconds ahead of Marco and won the race with a time of 3: 10: 58.7590.

2015: Juan Pablo Montoya on willpower

Prior to 2014, Juan Pablo Montoya had not raced in IndyCar since winning the Indy 500 2000. Montoya raced in Formula 1, NASCAR and Grand Am for some time before returning to the Indy 500 for Team Penske in 2014 when he finished fifth overall.

For much of the 2015 Indy 500, everything seemed fine for Scott Dixon to take his second title. He won the No. 1 position and led in the first 18 rounds. He constantly fought his way back to first place and finished the race after running a race high in 84 laps.

Montoya and Will Power stayed with him, however, and lap 187 was the last time Dixon came out on top. Power led until 192, then took the lead for 193 before Montoya overtook him for the lead in 197. Montoya never gave up his lead and finished the race with a time of 3: 05: 56.5286 0.1046 seconds ahead of Power to win his second Indy 500.

1982: Gordon Johncock on Rick Mears

Until 1982 there had never been a race with a lead of less than a second. There were only four races that ended with a lead of less than 10 seconds.

But in 1982 Gordon Johncock and Rick Mears delivered one of the sport’s most memorable races. Johncock briefly took the lead from AJ Foyt on lap 23 before Don Whittington took the lead. Mears, who started in # 1 position, had a 36 to 41 lead and then 60 to 63 again. Foyt went ahead again on lap 64 before Mears took command for a while, leading 65 to 94.

From then on, Mears and Johncock swapped the lead, with Tom Sneva’s 142-to-154 advantage being the only time after lap 64 that either of the above two drivers was not ahead. Mears took the edge back at 155 and led until Johncock finished lap 160 in front of him. He never gave up the lead, finishing the lap with 57 laps on Mears ’77. Even so, Mears kept them tight throughout and finished the race 0.16 minutes behind Johncock’s time of 3: 05: 09.140, a record for the lowest profit margin.

Race with caution

The next race ever finished was in 2012 when Dario Franchitti was just 0.0295 seconds ahead of Scott Dixon. Like some other close placements, however, this race ended with caution. Here are some of the other close races that ended with caution.

  • 2020: Takuma Sato on Scott Dixon – 0.0577
  • 2013: Tony Kanaan on Carlos Muñoz – 0.1159
  • 2005: Dan Wheldon on Vitor Meira – 0.1302
  • 2010: Dario Franchitti on Dan Wheldon – 0.1536
  • 2004: Buddy Rice on Tony Kanaan – 0.1559

Comments are closed.