Who gained the Tour de France 2021? Yellow jersey straps in Champs-Elysees

Slovenian cyclist Tadej Pogacar made history a year ago when he became the second youngest winner of the Tour de France.

In 2021 he will write history again. At 22, he became the youngest two-time champion in 108-year history and the youngest to win two yellow jerseys in a row.

Last year, Pogacar won the tenth-closest race of all time when he beat his Slovenian compatriot Primoz Roglic by just 59 seconds. Roglic, who is ranked No. 1 started the race, crashed several times at the beginning of the first week of action and finished the eighth stage in 175th place. He decided not to continue the tour and decided to abandon the race.

The 2021 Tour de France was Pogacar’s entire race. He took the lead in the overall standings and took the yellow jersey on stage 8. He had already won the time trial on stage 5, his first of three stage wins. As he rolled over the finish line, he crossed the finish line with a lead of five minutes and 20 seconds.

In addition to the yellow jersey, Pogacar also won the dotted and white jerseys.

2021 Tour de France jersey winner

  • Yellow: Tadej Pogacar
  • Speckle: Tadej Pogacar
  • Green: Mark Cavendish
  • White: Tadej Pogacar

Ranking of the Tour de France 2021

Item no. Cyclist (nationality) time
1. Tadej Pogacar (Slovenian) 82 hours, 56 minutes, 36 seconds
2. Jonas Vingegaard (Danish) +00.05.20
3rd Richard Carapaz (Ecuadorian) +00.07.03
4th Ben O’Connor (Australian) +00.10.02
5. Wilco Kelderman (Dutch) +00.10.13

A full list of classifications can be found here.

Stage winner of the Tour de France 2021

# date length stage winner
1 June 26th 197.8 km (122.9 miles) Brest to Landerneau (hilly) Julian Alaphilippe
2 June 27th 183.5 km (114.0 miles) Perros-Guirec to Brittany Guerledan (hilly) Mathieu van der Poel
3 June 28th 182.9 km (113.6 miles) Lorient to Pontivy (flat) Tim Merlier
4th June 29th 150.4 km (93.5 miles) Redon to Fougeres (flat) Mark Cavendish
5 June 30th 27.2 km (16.9 miles) Change to Laval Espace Mayenne (individual time trial) Tadej Pogacar
6th July 1 160.6 km (99.8 miles) Tours to Chateauroux (flat) Mark Cavendish
7th 2nd July 249.1 km (154.8 miles) Vierzon to Le Creusot (hilly) Matej Mohoric
8th 3rd of July 150.8 km (93.7 miles) Oyonnax to Le Grand Bornand (mountain) Dylan Teuns
9 4th of July 144.9 km (90.0 miles) Notes on Tignes (mountain) Ben O’Connor
Rest day 5th July Tignes N / A
10 July 6th 190.7 km (118.5 miles) Albertville to Valence (flat) Mark Cavendish
11 7th of July 198.9 km (123.6 miles) Sorgues to Malaucene (mountain) Wout van Aert
12 8th of July 159.4 km (99.0 miles) Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux to Nimes (flat) Nils Politt
13th July 9th 219.9 km (136.6 miles) Nimes to Carcassonne (flat) Mark Cavendish
14th 10th of July 183.7 km (114.1 miles) Carcassonne to Quillan (hilly) Bauke Mollema
fifteen July 11th 191.3 km (118.9 miles) Ceret to Andorra-La-Vielille (mountain) Sepp kiss
Rest day July 12 Andorra N / A
16 July 13th 169 km (105.0 miles) Pas de la Case to Saint-Gaudens (hilly) Patrick Conrad
17th July 14th 178.4 km (110.9 miles) Muret to Saint-Lary-Soulan Col Du Portet (mountain) Tadej Pogacar
18th 15th of July 129.7 km (80.6 miles) Pau to Luz Ardiden (mountain) Tadej Pogacar
19th 16th of July 207 km (128.6 miles) Mourenx to Libourne (flat) Matej Mohoric
20th 17th July 30.8 km (19.1 miles) Libourne to Saint-Emilion (individual time trial) Wout van Aert
21 July 18th 108.4 km (67.4 miles) Chatou to Paris Champs-Elysees (flat) Wout van Aert

Who is the youngest Tour de France winner?

Pogacar, who made his Tour de France debut in 2020, became the second youngest cyclist to win the event at the age of 21.

The youngest was Henri Cornet, a French cyclist who won the Tour de France in 1904 at the age of 19. Cornet did not win another title in the race after the point system was switched to a point system instead of a time system the following year. although it was switched back to scoring in 1912.

Winner of the back-to-back tour

There have been several cyclists who have won the Tour de France in consecutive seasons. To eliminate those who were deprived of their victories – sorry, Lance Armstrong – 13 cyclists have won the race for at least two consecutive years.

Lucien Petit-Breton was the first to win it twice in a row taking victories in 1907 and 1908.

When Pogacar drives next year, he will be the only driver to win for three consecutive seasons alongside Louison Bobet, Jacques Anquetil, Eddy Merckx, Miguel Indurain and Chris Froome. Indurain won the race for five consecutive years from 1991-95, with Anquetil (1961-64) and Merckx (1969-72) having the second-longest streak with four straight wins.

Most Tour de France wins by rider

Four riders are tied for the most overall championship wins in a cycling career. Anquetil, Merckx, Indurain and Bernard Hinault have each won the Tour de France five times. Froome has won it four times and Bobet, Philippe Thys and Greg LeMond have each won the race three times.

With two wins at such a young age, Pogacar will still have plenty of time to join this elite company. The oldest cyclist to ever win the Tour was Firmin Lambot, who took the Tour de France in 1922 at the age of 36. Pogacar already has two wins 14 years younger than Lambot.

Most Tour de France stage wins by driver

Mark Cavendish made history during the 2021 Tour de France when he won the 13th stage, which paired him with Merckx for 34 stage wins. At this year’s Tour de France, he won four stages.

He almost broke the record when he finished strong on the Champs-Elysees, but Wout van Aert won the final sprint for his third stage win of the Tour.

Comments are closed.